Batting for Change



Batting for Change is an innovative fundraising campaign that combines the excitement of T20 cricket in Australia with a commitment to supporting the education of economically disadvantaged young people in developing cricket-playing nations.

The 2014-15 LBW Trust/Batting for Change program was recently launched in Sydney and was extremely well attended by several of Sydney Sixers cricketers, Board Members, supporters and LBW partners. 

This exciting program now in its second season will be led by Sydney Sixers wicketkeeper and Team Kookaburra player Ryan Carters with Batting for Change  aiming to raise $66,666 for the LBW Trust to support the university education of 500 young women living in poverty in Mumbai, India.

“This is a great initiative headed up by Ryan, and with a number of our players within the Sydney Sixers line up including Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon.  I am sure the guys will smash their target and we will also be pledging our support as well” commented Brett Elliot, Group Managing Director, Kookaburra Sports.

Making a pledge couldn’t be easier, visit Batting for Change, make a pledge per six hit by any Sydney Sixers and if you prefer you can also cap your generous donation to this worthy cause.


Formed in 2006 The LBW Trust is a registered charity, with a mission to raise funds to provide scholarships to economically disadvantaged students in developing, cricket playing countries to help them complete their tertiary education. Their hope is that, when they graduate, these young men and women will have the opportunity to play an important part in improving the future of their communities and nations.

Batting for Change is a fund raising initiative between The LBW Trust and The Sydney Sixers with Ryan Carters leading the program and invites cricket fans from around the world to pledge to donate a small amount of money for every six hit by The Sydney Sixers during the 2014-2015 

New commitments in 2014-15 will see the Trust support over 750 students through partnerships with local institutions in India, Pakistan, Nepal, South Africa, Uganda, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka.

LBW stands for Learning for a Better World.

LBW Trust Patrons include Rodney Cavalier AO; Greg Chappell MBE; General Peter Cosgrove AC, MC; The Honourable Sir William Deane AC, KBE; Padma Bhushan Rahul Dravid; Senator the Honourable John  Faulkner; The Right Honourable Malcolm Fraser AC, CH; Adam Gilchrist AM; Ian Macfarlane AC; Dr Maurice L Newman AC; Kumar Sangakkara; Basil Sellers AM; Malcolm Speed.

LBW Trust Ambassadors are Ryan Carters, Ellyse Perry and Peter FitzSimmons.

LBW Trust Chairman:  Mr Darshak Mehta.